Regressions

I have already spoken many times of my problems with the Linux kernel and my laptop sound card. It used to work fine until kernel 2.6.32, but starting from kernel 2.6.33 it has been giving me a lot of troubles. I have tried every single kernel, including 2.6.37-rc1 but the problem persists. I have also tried plenty of options, including these ones (yes, virtually every possible combination). I have compiled many kernels with many options and even different version of the ALSA drivers. To no avail. Today I have finally decided to give up. I am still using Aptosid, but I have rolled back to a freshly compiled kernel 2.6.32 and everything appears to work like a charm. I seems that, for the entire useful live of this laptop, I will have to resign myself and stick to this good old kernel…