Good bye Ubuntu

I started using Linux early in the 2000. First it was Mandrake and then RedHat. I first tried Ubuntu in 2005 and I immediately adopted it and recommended it to my friends. Through Ubuntu I discovered Debian and other derivatives.

I was relatively happy with Ubuntu until, for professional reasons (the same reasons that took me to Linux) I had to migrate to 64-bit systems. In my experience, 64-bit Ubuntu has been a nightmare. First, it destroyed my filesystem. Then, version after version, I had continuous issues with sound, poor performances, etc.

The latest serious problem in my laptop  was with the buggy (for me at least) r8169 driver (this comes with the kernel!). Often, when I was trying to download big files from the internet (even with apt-get) the system hanged up completely. Initially, I though it was a hard drive problem and I even bough a new disk. Then I realised that freezes only happened when connected through the ethernet cable and not with wireless. Downloading and compiling the RTL8168B driver fixed the problem, but it took me months to figure out the problem (I even sent the computer to be repaired when still in warranty!).

During last days, my workstation with Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit was behaving erratically until finally becoming almost unusable.

What I have learned from this is that if one needs Linux for work, one should stick to the good old guys: Debian stable for my laptop and Scientific Linux (RHEL) for my workstation. Alright, they are not so pretty and you do not have the latest stuff, but they work.