Galiza apartheid (II): Autophobia

Galiza apartheid (II): Autophobia



¿Qué dirían las ventanas,
tu madre y su hermana
y todos los siglos de colonialismo español
que no en balde te han hecho cobarde?


Silvio Rodríguez


As I was watching the videos below I felt like crying. I am not black, if that is what you are thinking. I am a white European. I am Galician. But these videos reminded me of how much we hated ourselves as kids and teenagers. We hated ourselves because of being Galician. Still today, if you speak Galician you often feel like a foreigner in your own country. They make you feel like a foreigner. And, yet, there is people who think that speaking of Spanish colonialism in Galicia is an exaggeration, but if so, how can you explain all this self-hatred?

I felt like crying because I was remembering my mom being discriminated at the bank, not even for speaking our language in public, but just for having an accent. I remembered how she lowered her voice if she happened to meet her sister in the city centre, so that people could not notice she was speaking the dammed language, the language of the poor and the ignorant.

Of course, being black is worse than being Galician. Because if you have been born black, unless if you are Michael Jackson or something, you will remain black all of your life, and you will have to carry that stigma and that prejudice with you, you want it or not. The nice thing about being Galician is that we can “correct” ourselves. We can stop speaking our language. We can stop speaking Galician to our children. We can “improve” our accent and try to speak as they do in Madrid. Well, in fact, that is what we are doing, aren’t we? In a slow agony, in a slow self-destruction process, a self-ethnocide if you like, we are slowly killing the flame we inherited from our forefathers.